Sydney, ang Pagtatapos

18 10 2006

Here’s the final installment on my travelogue on Sydney…

***

DAY 3 AM


It’s the last day of our trip here. Yesterday, on our second day, I completed the requisite traditional, detailed and unique shots of the Opera House and the Harbor Bridge. An idea I got from a photography book written by RichardI’Anson.


I went back to Circular Quay West and turned it upside down by going to every nook and cranny of the Rocks and even under the bridge. It was a good day to take photos and wander in the streets alone, the sun was out which made the day warmer than it really was. The highlight of my day was probably going to Auntie Kate and Uncle Edwin’s house and spending the entire afternoon with their family. I realized I’ve been missing family get-togethers and it was good to get a dose of it after a long time. We ate lunch together and went to Church together. It’s been awhile since I went to Mass.


Being with them was great but it also made me realize why I am loving my stay here. I am loving it because of the independence and the freedom it affords me. Because it enables me to make decisions by myself and pushes me to be responsible and wise enough to know what’s good for me. Hearing their insights on life here also made me realize how I still have some way to go before I can say that I have adjusted to how things are down here.


After dinner Uncle Gerard drove us to the city and dropped us off at Darling Harbour. It was a fantastic stroll but it made me feel like I was lacking something… I didn’t like the feeling because I certainly don’t think I’m incomplete… And then the reason finally dawned on me… it was a place almost exclusively perfect for lovers holding hands while walking (at pa sway-sway pa?) ;P. The place was fantastic by itself, but it would have been more wonderful if my family was there to experience it with me. (Note: Did you think I was going to wish for somebody else to be there with me? Hehehe).


Day 3 PM


Our last day was spent at the Darling Harbour again and we killed time by going to the Sydney Aquarium. I guess the highlights of our last day were the afternoon spent in Hyde Park dissecting life and love; and the free hugs at the Pitt Street Mall. Yes, our sojourn in Sydney ended with big, tight and very warm hugs from people we never met before. It was started by a guy who goes to the place every thursday with a poster saying FREE HUGS in bold letters. When I asked him what the gig was for, he simply said “for good cheer.” Isn’t it amazing how an effort so simple could have a huge impact on people? And he gives really good heartfelt hugs.


They say travelling teaches you a lot about yourself and changes you in some way. What this trip taught me is that it is good to say yes all the time, to be in the moment and to bloom where you are planted. There are things in life that you do just because it’s what your heart is pushing you to do. Life is too short to think about who wins or who loses, or to care about which course of action will be more palatable to people who, ultimately, don’t count in your life.


I almost ended the trip lonely and disappointed, I went through a whole gamut of emotions because of something that may even appear juvenile and irrational to some. But my angas session with Mel at the park (Note: wow parang paco presents…concert at the park na pinapalabas sa ptv 4 hahaha) has made me realize that there is salvation in knowing that I did everything I can to make things happen. It didn’t turn, so it’s time to get rid of it and move on.

***

There you go, that’s my take on Sydney.


It’s a wonderful and beautiful city, definitely, but maybe I’m getting old, because midway through our trip, I started missing Melbourne and its provincial vibe. I’ll gladly go back for a weekend, but if it’s a question of where I’d like to live long-term, the probinsyana in me would no doubt choose Melbourne.


And because I always try to mean what I say, I am going back for a weekend next month to celebrate my birthday there hehehe.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

