with a lot of help from my friends

23 11 2006

Each time I go through a crisis, the main lesson that keeps being highlighted is that I am not alone and that I am lucky to have family and friends who will never, ever let go of my hand. The harrowing experience I went through several days ago was no different than all the others but it made me realize how truly fortunate I am to have an entire solid group of friends here to hold my hand (literally and figuratively) through the dark times.

friends

And oh, last year I contributed a letter to Forbes magazine’s time capsule project. I wrote myself a letter and asked that it be sent to me a year later. Tonight I received the letter in my inbox and whoa, all I can say is, awesome timing. And yeah, I did good, I did really good on my plans.

Here is the letter:
==================================================================
Greetings from your past. In the fall of 2005, you agreed to receive this message, which
has been preserved for a year in the Forbes.com E-Mail Time Capsule. For more details,
visit http://www.forbes.com/capsule

Here is the text of your message:

You wrote this a year ago.

A lot of things happened to you in 2005.

You learned football.

You met life-long friends.

You lost weight.

Things went bad with Barney but you had good times. He’s really an asshole so don’t take
what he did personally. Plus you learned how truly loved you are by your friends and
family. And you learned how not to become perenially bitter after a heartbreaking event.

You learned that pain is good because it helps you move forward but you should never
cling to it.

You said that by mid-2006 you’d be out of your company and be in another country, either
studying or working.

So how are you now?
==================================================================I’

So how am I now? In Aussie lingo, I’M GOOD, THANKS. Wehehehe.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

