Life’s a Beach

21 01 2007

I had my first beach swim in Australia yesterday. The rain did not let up all day but I was determined to follow through on my plan to make it a full-on beach gig complete with a dip.

We took the scenic route, boarded a ferry from Southgate and started the day by going to the Scienceworks Museum in Spotswood, a pleasant surprise because I didn’t think I would enjoy this part of the trip. It’s a place geared towards kids of course but I had a blast checking out the exhibitions and going to the Planetarium shows. As Harrison Ford said during one of the shows, if there is anything that life teaches us, it is that we should keep an open mind, and kept an open mind I did. In fact, I was so awestruck with everything I saw, especially the Nitty Gritty Super City exhibit, where they explain how recycling works and they display a scale model of the entire city of Melbourne made out of legos. Alright I’m going to stop gushing now. Good thing the lightning show was not on, or else this entry would really read like an essay grade school kids submit to their teachers after a field trip hehe.

Afterwards, we rode two stations down to go to Williamstown Beach. I didn’t let mother nature stop me from going for a swim but I wasn’t able to take out Bogart and photograph the beach. For one, it was overcast and second, while I knew I could withstand water, I doubt Bogart can and I am not financially capable of finding out if he is hehehe. Instead of ruining my mood, the dark skies and the rain probably even made the experience more glorious. It was good to swim with just a handful of people in sight, all stubborn kids like myself, and it was relaxing to lie on the sand with the rain falling on my face.  It was just so serene that Melanie couldn’t stop commenting about how quiet it was… until I told her to get over it hahaha.

Perfect.

I just realized, the photo above has absolutely nothing to do with the beach haha. Who cares anyway =)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

