Pinoy Kase

27 04 2007

I’m still reeling from watching the Australian production of Miss Saigon a couple of hours ago. I never expected it to be that moving and riveting. I have heard the songs a thousand times in Pinoy sunday afternoon shows like ASAP or the more vintage SA LINGGO NA PO SILA but I felt an entirely different sensation listening to them in context, sung with raw emotions.

I also didn’t expect to see so many Filipino performers tonight. To hell with sounding cheesy, but it was indeed a very proud Pinoy moment. Leo Valdez should be revered for how well he plays the Engineer.

Since moving here, I’ve always tried to tag every Asian with Malay features I see as Filipino. I guess it’s one way I stay connected. I always feel a sense of warmth whenever I hear someone speak Tagalog or Bisaya or Waray in a crowd buzzing with a myriad of other languages and dialects and that feeling was multiplied a hundred times tonight when I heard the Filipino members of the cast perform with passion and when I saw other nationalities applaud them with gusto. Astig =)

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 04 2007
talapee

i enjoyed miss saigon when they showed in manila. yup definitely proud feeling after 🙂

ps: i’ve a photographer friend pala shapor. you might be interested to view his photos — http://www.mignac.com. 🙂

29 04 2007
porsh

thanks for the link sarah, i checked out his website, he’s good =)

Leave a Reply

