My Life in Buffet

23 10 2007

Little by little I’m beginning to realize what my manager meant when he said his time here in the US was a welcome break from everything going on in his life. It is nice to get away from everything, to take a step back and see where your life is heading. Sometimes all you really need is a few quiet weeks to keep still.

***

If I were to write a story about my stay in Minneapolis so far, it would be called MY LIFE IN BUFFET. It has been one buffet after another which gives me a heavier (pun intended) reason to go to the gym. But I’m certainly not complaining.

Minneapolis is a city worthy of any foodie. It will forever hold the honor of being the city to introduce me to the joy of Indian food. Oh yes, the lunch buffet at Bombay Bistro was a very pleasant surprise, and cheap at $11. I’ve been there twice just this week.

The sushi bar at Ichiban is tasty but I think I’ll stay away from anything with seaweed from now on. And it is a bit steep at $30, but it does come with a free appetizer, drink and dessert and the fun of eyeing your food from several persons down and wishing no one will take it from you. And the resto gets points for using boats to carry the sushi instead of the plain conveyor-belt like contraption.

Last Friday when I finally met up with Consi and got introduced to the love of her life, Mark, and finally saw the famed Mall of America. (It is big and that’s all I can say about it) I got a chance to taste typical American fare again, this time at Ruby Tuesday. Apart from my friends, the salad bar and the strawberry iced tea made the very long wait time worth the hassle and the sirloin steak I ordered is worth a mention but I would have preferred the blue cheese served as a side dish.

While I sound a bit ambivalent about Ruby Tuesday, I’m definitely very happy with the Cheesecake Factory. It is, without a doubt, cheesecake heaven. And because heaven is meant to be shared, we decided to order a different flavor each so we can pass the cakes around the table have each person taste what the other has. I’m known as a sucker for everything sweet so I loved everything but I would probably choose Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake as part of my last meal on earth (putakte ang drama).

So there you have it, my life in buffet…

Actions

Information

One response

23 10 2007
planetqz » Blog Archive » My Life in Buffet

[…] more here […]

Leave a Reply

