Boston and Cambridge

5 11 2007

I went to Harvard. I went to Harvard under very unfriendly weather and all I got to do was rub John H’s shoe. Crappy!

Just kidding. I went to Harvard and it was awesome. Sweet and surreal. I walked on Harvard grounds people. I’ve always had this fascination with the academe, the coffee-sipping, neurotic, passionate free thinkers. This fascination is probably one of the driving factors why I enrolled in a master’s degree a couple of years ago.

So anyway, I braved the category 1 hurricane hitting the east coast that day and the water getting into my shoes and nearly freezing my toes to frostbite death. I was willing to endure anything just to see Harvard, and yes, if it were a band, I would have been a groupie. After putting on the preppiest outfit I could manage, we headed to the uni of my dreams. While there, we checked out the Harvard Law School Library, the Memorial Hall, we were tempted to sneak into the Annenberg Dining Hall even if it risked getting caught by the university’s police hehe and we rubbed John Harvard’s shoe for good luck. It was interesting to discover later on the he wasn’t actually the founder of the uni and that the statue doesn’t resemble him at all and that the year indicated on the statue wasn’t exactly the year when Harvard was founded. But then again who cares? I certainly didn’t.

After hitting Harvard and photographing everything the rain and winds allowed Bogart to, Kuya Mannix and I took the train (again, because I think there is no better way to explore a city than by taking its public transportation) to MIT to gaze at the Strata building which houses the computer science and engineering departments of the school and was designed by Frank Gehry himself. Gosh it felt so nice to be surrounded by intelligent people haha and I’m such a sucker for geeks, no offense to D.

We then went to Haymarket and had the most delicious Boston clam chowder from the Boston and Maine Fish Company stall in Quincy Market, coupled with savory bacon-wrapped scallops. By this time the winds were getting stronger but we still headed to Copley Square to see the Trinity Church and Boston Public Library. After that we were too cold and tired to continue on so we decided to head home. On the way to the airport I got to pass through the most expensive transportation project in the US, the big dig. Although I’m not sure that little fact will interest anyone but anyway, I just thought I’d include that in this post.

If I had to live in the US, I would probably choose to settle in Boston. Because it’s a university town like (note: Harvard is actually in neighboring Cambridge, not Boston) Melbourne, it has a different kind of vibe. OK so I probably need more than two nights to really review this city but because of it’s proximity to Harvard, it has already won 95 points for me hehehe. Another great thing about Boston is the fact that my close relatives are there, it was a bit sad to say goodbye this morning because I don’t know when I’ll be seeing them again, but I’m thankful for the chance to spend time with them.

So there you go, one item crossed off from my list of things to do before you die.

Actions

Information

One response

7 11 2007
kuya mannix

you need to be back here . . . . . longer than 2 days and most especially not on a rainy, windy, cold weekends! you will love this place even more. i was hoping we could show you the foliage New England is well known for during autumn. ooopppss, nakalimutan mo yung brown gloves mo. hehehe.

Leave a Reply

