Pharida Was Here

23 04 2008

It’s almost half past midnight and I am nowhere near sleepy. And my laptop’s battery is showing no sign of draining up soon so I relented and decided to write here.

Pharida was indeed here, she stayed for four weeks can you imagine? I can and I’m still suffering from missing-mum sickness, tripled in intensity by PMS. It was very, very nice to finally show off Melbourne to her and give her a glimpse of how her brat of a daughter has done a total turn-around and become an independent expat. It was heaven to go shopping with her and walk my everyday route to the city with her by my side while discussing life, love, marriage (in subtle doses of course) and living-in (in teeny tiny, almost undetectable doses haha).

I took her around my ‘burb and we had Sunday brunch at Lygon, a rarely practiced tradition of Melanie and myself, we checked out the op shops in Collingwood, window shopped in Myer, introduced her to my old-school Italian tailor/sastre, visited NGV International, had lunch at one of my favorite Thai fast food, let her experience Nando’s heaven, and did a whole lot of other things.

Ok halfway through this post a message pops up in the lower right corner of my lappy warning me to save my work, switch to outlet power or be sorry.

It’s been two days since Mum left but I still miss her. Melanie and I even postponed watching season 7 of the Gilmore Girls because I’m still in a state too fragile to witness the mother and daughter moments in the show. I hope this vacation of hers becomes an annual thing, I could really use 4weeks’ worth of mothering every year. Maybe next year she can take Dad with her.

I hope everyone’s been good. I have a feeling one of my very best friends has gotten married without even hearing any congratulatory form of greeting from me. It’s because I was too preoccupied or scatterbrained to remember the exact date of her wedding so Abe if you’re reading this, best wishes and congrats! I hope to see you here soon, hopefully your Aussie visas have been ok’d by now.

Work has been very fulfilling, sometimes exhausting but I’m not complaining ’cause I love what I’m doing.  Oh hey did I just rhyme so well then?  Hehe.

I’m off to Texas this friday to see D, finally after nine weeks! If there’s one thing this long-distance setup has taught me, it is the virtue of patience and delayed gratification. I know it’s this friday but the past couple of days have been crawling at a snail’s pace just to spite me I think. Grrr.

Ok I hope everyone’s been doing good lately. Take care whoever you are reading this and please greet Melanie a very merry happy brithday! I think I really need to sleep now as it’s almost 1am and there’s still work tomorrow.

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 04 2008
cads

nahihirapan akong basahin blog mo… ingles kasi e… dumudugo ilong ko

25 04 2008
nan

your mom and dad are proud of you madz. and so am i. take care. have fun in texas.

Leave a Reply

