This post is not about possums…

5 06 2008

Hello.

It’s been four weeks since I got back from Texas. Initially I didn’t want to write about it after I got back because I was too sad to reminisce. While the flight back to Melbourne was the shittiest and loneliest transatlantic flight I’ve ever had to take, it was also for a trip that was so memorable and special. I guess you could say it was bittersweet. Chenes chingkie mae chervalin chuva (try translating that at babel fish). But anyway I have recovered.

I definitely learned a couple of things about myself from the trip, I learned that… Love is patient; love is kind and envies no one. Love is never boastful, nor conceited, nor rude; never selfish, not quick to take offense. HAHAHAHA. I’m funny. This just suddenly brings back memories of me doing the first reading at Melanie’s wedding so fast like I was being chased by a herd of possums. Can you imagine being chased by dozens of these creatures? Shiver. Yakididakdak. Seriously that’s how I motivate myself when I run around the beautiful but possum-friendly park that is Carlton Gardens.

So I learned that I’d like to take it slow relationship-wise and that I should stop watching too much rom coms. And hooray guess who’s celebrating their first anniversary? Uh huh. That’s right. Amazing isn’t it? We talked about what we’re going to give each other and set a limit of $200. I suggested we just donate to charity whatever amount it is we plan on spending but D argued that he’s already donating a monthly sum to an org which takes care of some species of animal (hopefully not possums). In short, shot down! And for the record I don’t hate possums so if you’re a lover of this animal, you can stop that hate mail you’re about to send me now. Going back, as gifts we also made a pact to never stop being weird, silly, crazy and quirky. He said that wouldn’t be a problem ’cause he’s way past the age to outgrow it. Good.

****

My best friend Abe and her husband paid me a visit a couple of weeks ago. It was surreal to have her standing outside my apartment ’cause I never imagined I’d see her here. But I did and I’m so thankful. Genuine friends definitely give you a different kind of high, and you never have to explain things to them because they get you and time passes by so quickly when you’re talking to them. I miss, miss my best friends.

****

And cupcakes are my new obsession. If we lived in the same city, you’d have a ration every monday from me ;P

Actions

Information

2 responses

9 06 2008
abe

Why do you have a ceiling amount for anniv gifts? aba, dapat sky’s the limit!! sa gift ni daniel sa yo 😉

9 06 2008
shapor

Hello Abe! Eh kase material thing lang ang gift no, we didn’t want to trivialize the event by reducing it to a simple gift-giving routine hehehe.

Leave a Reply

