Flexi-working and virtualizing

4 09 2008

I didn’t go to Mexico. So in that makeshift office in a small part of our dining room I am virtualizing Mexico, starting work at 11pm when Melbourne is starting to wind down and finishing at exactly 8am. No after-office activities for me as I go straight to bed and am dead to the world in five minutes tops. Until 12noon.

I am averaging 4 hours of sleep each day, Dan says I’m slowly destroying my immune system but what can I do, it’s the start of spring and it’s such a shame to waste all that sun by spending it sleeping.

As expected, my sleep pattern, schedule and eating habits are in chaos. I can’t go for a nightly run because I’m too lethargic, it is just simply hard to function normally. I set myself a goal to take this certification before Dan comes home from the US (yes he went back again, but he’ll be home in a week hooray) but right now my goal is just to get through this without getting sick.

I suppose working like this has it advantages, for one, the quiet alone times have pushed me to become creative again and redecorate the apartment, also working alongside North America hours allowed me to reconnect with my friends overseas and then being on the same time zone as Dan isn’t so bad either.

Also I feel like all my efforts have been recognized with a small thank-you note from a workmate. Awww. I’m so easy to appease you should try it sometime.

Adrien (my nephew) was baptized last Sunday, should I say “welcome to the Christian world Adrien”? But I feel like saying don’t believe everything you hear haha. That kid is growing fast, so fast that on his first month he met his target weight… for his sixth month. Haha. He looks a lot like me, good on you my boy, our family can always use another strong-willed kid in the house.

Last night I said I couldn’t wait for this week to be over but tonight I realized I’m actually enjoying the quiet nights perfect for pondering things.

P.S. As I was posting this entry and listening to a playlist composed of Regina Spektor, Sara Bareilles and A Fine Frenzy, I suddenly hear a woman singing tagalog… turns out I also clicked on Regine after Regina when I drew up my playlist hehe.

About the photo: This was taken at 6am I think, look how light it is already, thank goodness winter is over. See that lamp on the left beside the vase, that’s my recent DIY project, I re-covered the shade in a decorative handmade paper, I’m very happy with how it turned out. Say hi to my small fiery red old trusty heater just behind the red ergonomic office chair from Ikea hehe! ;P

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

