China Travelogue III

12 11 2008

October 8, 2008

Dan and I are at a coffee shop in my company’s Shanghai office. We just got back from a quick trip to the Bund. It was quick because we didn’t really enjoy our foray into construction land, accompanied with dust and persistent hawkers.

Hawkers. It reminds me of one observation I had in Hong Kong. I noticed most of the signs I saw had Tagalog translations to them, which goes to show how much of the population is made up of Pinoys.

Anyway, going back to what I’m supposed to write about. Shanghai this time around is a different experience.

I feel like calling this city a “city under construction.” The Jing’an temple was under construction, our hotel’s facade was hidden, or partly hidden, by a flyover under construction and finally, the Bund was under construction.

I don’t mean to sound negative, I did enjoy several things about Shanghai, like riding the Maglev at 430km/h and having cocktails atop the Jinmao Tower, and of course eating street food and dumplings at the Old Town.

We met up with our friends Andre and Yun and Andre’s mum Elisa yesterday when we flew in but the three of them have gone ahead to the next city in our itinerary. Now Dan and I are killing time and regaining our strength after five straight days of traveling and sightseeing and suffering a slight case of the squits. Haha. I suspect it was due to the smelly tofu.

We’re flying off to Xian in a couple of hours. We reshuffled our itinerary a bit because we couldn’t get any tickets for the overnight train to Beijing and all the flights are expensive. My head hurts a bit and I’m feeling a bit lethargic like I was just on a return trip to Manila from Tanay, Rizal in an open-air jeepney. Hehe.

TO BE CONTINUED…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

